Log in
Log in


HUPO activities are supported and lead by a number of committees.  Committees are composed of HUPO members and Council members. Members with an interest in serving on a committee are invited to email a letter of interest to HUPO Office.

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee shall annually solicit and review the nominations of individuals submitted by the membership to honor deserving members of the proteomics community world-wide. It is also responsible for raising the funds to be re- distributed to award winners.

Education and Training Committee

The  Education  and  Training Committee shall assemble programs which include workshops, courses, tutorials, etc., that may contribute to the professional growth and scientific awareness of Members.
  • Justyna Fert-Bober, USA (Co-Chair)
  • Tiannan Guo, China (Chair)

Marketing and Outreach Committee

    The HUPO Marketing and Outreach Committee (MOC) is responsible for promoting proteomics via the HUPO brand to a wide audience using a range of tools and activities. The MOC organizes outreach activities, such as the delivery of proteomics presentations/seminars and the planning and running of workshops. To assist in these efforts, the generation of marketing materials for distribution using key contacts and social media platforms is used to reach audiences from scientific and non-scientific backgrounds. The MOC actively engages with third-party organizations to increase the profile of proteomics, for both visibility and potential streams of income and sponsorship. This combination of MOC activities is also aimed to increase the number of HUPO members. The committee reports to the HUPO Executive Committee, providing updates on successful events and future plans. In addition, the MOC coordinates the activities of several subcommittees including the Website and Social Media, Membership and Video/Advertising sub-committees to achieve the missions of MOC. 

    Committee contact information:

    • Vera Ignjatovic, Australia (Chair)
    • Conor McCafferty, Australia
    • James Waddington, Ireland (Co-Chair)
    • Lennart Martens, Belgium
    • Ben Garcia, USA
    • Jennifer Geddes-McAlister, Canada
    • Emily Roth, Canada
    • Tiannan Guo, China

    View the 2021 Annual Report of the Marketing & Outreach Committee

    Nominations and Elections Committee

    The Nomination Committee shall consist of not less than three (3) and not more than seven (7) individuals (including at least one (1) Councilor). Members of the Nomination Committee shall be elected or appointed, as the case may be, at the annual meeting of the Council. Meetings of the Nomination Committee shall occur at least sixty-seven (67) days prior to the election of Councilors at each annual meeting of Members. The slate of candidates for Councilor offered by the Nomination Committee shall be approved by the Executive Committee not less than sixty (60) days prior to the election.  The Nomination Committee shall obtain written agreement from each candidate, make nomination recommendations and submit a list of candidates along with a short biographical sketch of each candidate to the Executive Committee for approval. The Nomination Committee shall exercise any other powers and duties as the Executive Committee may determine.

    • Rebekah Gundry, USA
    • Henning Hermjakob, UK 
    • Peter Hoffmann, Australia
    • Aleksandra Nita-Lazar, USA (Chair)
    • Jun Qin, USA/China
    • Paola Roncada, Italy
    • Si Wu, USA (Co-Chair)

    Publications Committee

    The Publications Committee shall interact with the scientific journals and the scientists in the field of proteomics and shall establish and promote the vision of the Corporation with respect to standards in publications related to proteomics. The Publications Committee shall oversee the Website and other electronic bases (e.g., Twitter) established for sharing HUPO news and information with Members and the public.

    • Andrea Urbani, Italy (Chair)
    • Deborah Penque,Portugal (Co-Chair)
    • Jean-Charles Sanchez, Switzerland
    • Mark Baker, Australia
    • Andrew Pitt, UK
    • Eric Deutsch, USA
    • Yasushi Ishihama, Japan
    • Charles Pineau, France

    Finance Committee

    The  Finance  Committee  shall  consist  of  the President, the immediate past President, the President-Elect, the Treasurer and the immediate past Treasurer. The Treasurer shall serve as chair of the Finance Committee. The Finance Committee shall meet at least each calendar quarter. All requests for expenditures shall be submitted to the Finance Committee with an explanation of the request and its budget/cost. The Finance Committee will evaluate proposals and will forward its recommendations to the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee will decide how the money is allocated and what projects will be supported. This process ensures that checks and balances are utilized throughout and enforces unbiased financial decisions.

    • YuJu Chen, Taipei 
    • Peter Hoffmann, Australia (Chair)
    • Robert Moritz, USA
    • Chris Overall, Canada
    • Stephen Pennington, Ireland

    The Human Proteome Organization is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt non-profit organization registered in the state of New Mexico.  |  © 2001-2022 HUPO. All rights reserved. 

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software